Skip to content
July 9, 2007 / Tony

Giant Chocolate Toffee Cookies

Awhile back, a co-worked asked if I had a toffee cookie recipe.  I’d never made that variety of cookie but since I like toffee, I thought it would be an interesting subject to investigate.  I did some internet searches and found this recipe at Epicurious.   

Giant Chocolate Toffee Cookie, from Bon Appétit magazine, March 2000

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 pound bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

1 3/4 cups (packed) brown sugar

4 large eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

5 1.4-ounce chocolate-covered English toffee bars (such as Heath), coarsely chopped

1 cup walnuts, toasted, chopped

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in small bowl; whisk to blend. Stir chocolate and butter in top of double boiler set over simmering water until melted and smooth. Remove from over water. Cool mixture to lukewarm.

Using electric mixer, beat sugar and eggs in bowl until thick, about 5 minutes. Beat in chocolate mixture and vanilla. Stir in flour mixture, then toffee and nuts. Chill batter until firm, about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment or waxed paper. Drop batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto sheets, spacing 2 1/2 inches apart. Bake just until tops are dry and cracked but cookies are still soft to touch, about 15 minutes. Cool on sheets. (Can be made 2 days ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.)

Makes about 18.

Some initial observations about this recipe: First, there are 361 reviews of this recipe on Epicurious.  Apparently, this is a popular cookie to make.  Second, notice the rather exceptional ingredient quantities.  The recipe only calls for 1/2 cup of flour while asking for 1 pound of chocolate and 5 Heath bars. 

I followed the recipe almost to a tee.  The only modification I made was instead of using all bittersweet chocolate, I used half bittersweet and half dark chocolate.  I don’t think this was a huge departure from the recipe. 

Incidentially, I used the Nestle Chocolatier product.  I think this is fairly new.  I’m no chocoholic or really have any ability to really taste for gourmet chocolate, so I can’t give a definite thumbs up or down on the quality.  But, I thought for this recipe, the chocolate worked rather well. 

The result was a cookie that was slightly crisp on the outside and just wonderfully gooey on the inside.  It was like a flattened, exceptionally moist brownie.  And soooooo rich.  Milk or coffee is a definite must when eating these cookies.  There are such intense flavors of sweetness, chocolate, and toffee.  They’re great and are sure to be a hit wherever you take them.  Here’s what they look like:

img_0284.jpg

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sam Mack / Jul 9 2007 6:04 pm

    Thank you for your kindness. I will try this and see if I can master it! I have a Chocolate Marshmallow Cookie receipt that you may be interested in. I can print a copy on the copy machine tomorrow, as I will probably not be sitting here for to much longer. OAO-Sam

  2. Katelyn / Jul 13 2007 12:13 am

    I was lucky enough to get to taste this beautiful creation and it was amazing! With each bite I grew deeper and deeper in love with the rich chocolatey masterpeice. I went to the fridge for some milk but when I took a drink, I found out the milk was rotten so I just took another bite of the cookie and I was okay again.

  3. michael v / Jul 24 2009 1:09 am

    didn’t really get my version to turn out, the tops wouldnt crack…. i guess i have the ratio wrong, we shall work on it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

