Skip to content
August 20, 2008 / katelynb

Mint & Pea Hummus with Pita Bread

BLOGGER: KATELYN

Mint & Pea Hummus with Pita Bread, from the Oprah Magazine Cookbook

Chef: Rori Trovato

Makes 1 1/2 cups.

1 TBL olive oil

3 small leeks, thoroughly washed and chopped, green parts removed

4 cups shelled peas (fresh or frozen)

3/4 cup vegetable broth

2 TBL tahini

2 TBL chopped mint

1 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste

1/2 tsp black pepper

6 pitas, cut into wedges and toasted

In a large saute pan, heat olive oil over med-low heat. Add leeks, cover, and cook until tender, 5 to 7 minutes. Add peas and cook uncovered 8 minutes (5 minutes if using frozen peas.) Add broth and cook 3 more minutes.

Remove from heat, stir in tahini and mint, and spoon mixture into the bowl of a food processor. Process until fairly smooth. Add salt and pepper, seasoning if desired. Place in a bowl and serve with toasted pita wedges.

 

When I create a recipe, I look at the primary ingredient and try to think outside the box, but I also think about how I would eat that particular food. I put the two together and decide how I might get someone else to try it.  – Chef Rori Trovato

I am a huge fan of miss Oprah Winfrey and was delighted to find the Oprah Magazine Cookbook at the library this summer. Filled with delicious recipes and mouthwatering pictures of food that I trust would top the list of Oprah’s Favorite Things, I couldn’t resist trying a few. The Mint & Pea Hummus caught my eye immediately. I wanted to use fresh peas but it was a bit too early in the summer for fresh garden peas. I opted for frozen, and was not dissapointed. The color was wonderful, a vibrant summery green that reinstated the freshenss. Traditionally hummus is served at room teperature however this was great cold. We served the hummus with grilled pita bread. Yumm!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

