Skip to content
June 27, 2007 / Tony

Scrambled eggs with zucchini

I had a little extra time this morning, so I decided to make some eggs.  What I most like about making eggs is their versatility.  The additions to scrambled eggs or omelets or frittatas or egg bakes or quiches (etc.) are infinite.  Hence, they are great way to use up all of those leftovers in your fridge.  This morning, then, I found leftover grilled zucchini and some Parmesan cheese.  So, I heated a non-stick sauté pan with olive oil.  Coarsely chopped the zucchini and sautéed it briefly.  I then beat two eggs in a small bowl with a fork and added some salt and pepper.  Then I added the eggs to the pan and started to scramble them.  With some grated Parmesan cheese on top, it was a satisfying and tasty breakfast.  I especially liked the smokiness of the zucchini with the eggs.  It really perked up the flavor as well as adding some heftiness to the eggs that usually only some sort of smoked meat provides. It’s pretty hard to screw up scrambled eggs but there are a couple of rules that should be followed.  First, the more you stir the eggs, the smaller the individual pieces of scrambled egg will be.  Second, the quickness of the heat transfer to the eggs will affect the final consistency of the eggs.  The longer you cook them (say, over a double boiler?), you can create the creamiest scrambled eggs you’ve ever had.  Just keep the heat low and even, stir just occasionally, and you’ll be rewarded with large, creamy, and silky scrambled eggs. 

Leave a comment