Skip to content
July 2, 2007 / Tony

A very bad recipe

I happened upon Lutheransonline.com this afternoon and found that it had a recipe section to it.  (This website is hosted by Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and is not a dedicated food site.)  I heard of this site after googling the search terms “worst recipe” and finding a reference to it in an Australian newspaper.  Intrigued, I set off to check out the site for myself.  I found this recipe:

Salmon Mousse

2 envelopes of gelatin

1/2 cup(s) cold water

1 cup(s) pasta sauce such as Ragu

3 tbsp lemon juice

1 cup(s) mayonnaise

4 ozs Cool Whip

1 cup(s) black olives, quartered

1 cup(s) celery, finely diced

7 ozs pkg of Salmon

Soften gelatin in 1/2 c.cold water.  Heat sauce to boiling. Remove from heat and add softened gelatin and stir until dissolved. Add lemon juice.  Chill until partly congealed.  Fold in mayonnaise, Cool Whip, olives, celery and salmon.  Pour into a two quart casserole. Refrigerate until firm. Serve on lettuce.

I’m not sure if this recipe is more aspic than mousse.  I plead ignorance as to the finer points of making either (especially the aspic) but I am trying to imagine folding mayonnaise and Cool Whip into tomatoa sauce that has been thickened with gelatin and is now partially congealed.  Do they come together well or are there chunks of either?  What kind of mixture is this?  What is the texture like?  And what is the flavor?  Here’s the flavors I see: sweetness, acidity, and some herbs from the tomato sauce; citrus from the lemon; tang and creaminess from the mayonnaise; sweetness, creaminess, and vanilla flavors from the Cool Whip; acidic brininess from the black olives; crunch from the celery; and bad salmon flavor from the packaged salmon (is it canned?  smoked?  freeze-dried?  I just don’t know).  I just can’t get my mind around what this recipe is trying to do.  I don’t get any of the ingredients with the salmon and I certainly don’t understand why Cool Whip is going into a savory mousse.  And mayonnaise with tomato sauce?  Why?  If anyone has any insights as to how this recipe works, please let me know.  I am simply baffled. 

Leave a Reply

