Skip to content
July 3, 2007 / Tony

Grandma Gert’s Rommegrot

As promised, here’s the recipe for my Grandmother’s Rommegrot.  It’s wondeful.

Grandma Gert’s Rommegrot

1 ½ pints sweet cream (thick)

2 quarts milk (scalded)

1 heaping cup flour

1 tsp salt

5 tbsp sugar

Bring cream to a rolling boil in a large, heavy kettle.  Add flour alternately, stirring hard until butter comes to the top.  Skim off butter, reserving for later.  Add milk, a little at a time, stirring constantly, until it is nice and smooth.  Add salt and sugar.  Put in a bowl and add the melted butter on top.  If butter does not come out of the cream, add some melted butter to the top.  Serve with cinnamon and sugar.

I will admit to never having made this.  My only concern in making this recipe is the incorporation of the flour into the hot cream.  There seems to be a huge danger of the flour clumping together.  Perhaps I’ll use a sieve to incorporate the flour.  That should, in theory, lessen the potential danger I see.  Although, I’ve eaten this recipe many, many times and never found it clumpy.  I wish I could have seen my Grandmother make it. 

Leave a Reply

