Skip to content
August 22, 2007 / Tony

Hummus

Hummus just might be my favorite party appetizer.  It is a lemony, smooth, rich, and complex dish of chickpeas (or garbanzo beans if you like), lemon juice, tahini, and olive oil.  With a food processor, it is a snap to make.  Serve it with tortilla chips or even better, grilled pita bread and crudité.  Of course, with simple dishes like this, good ingredients matter.  So use the best ingredients you can find with the exception of the olive oil.  No real need to use extra great extra-virgin olive oil here, the dish just isn’t that delicate.  Thanks to Mark Bittman for his recipe for hummus from which I have borrowed heavily.

Hummus

1 14.5 oz can chickpeas, with liquid

1/2 cup tahini

1 lemon, juiced

1 clove garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp ground cumin

Kosher salt and pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  If the mixture looks thick, add some water until it is a smooth and somewhat loose consistency.  Remember, this is supposed to be a dip.  Taste for seasonings and adjust as needed.  Serve.

Here’s what my hummus looked like.  The garnishes are a cilantro sprig and some chili powder. 

img_0734.jpg

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. shooky @ The hummus blog / Aug 22 2007 7:00 pm

    Tony, you should really try to all the way once, like using dried chickpeas instead of canned ones. It’s harder and takes more time to make, but the outcome worth every minute.

    Another thing: try leaving out the olive oil, and poor it on top. Use a lot of chopped parsley instead of the cilantro (keep it for the falafel…).

    And what’s with the kosher salt? There’s no such thing as kosher and non-kosher salt – take my word for it, I’m Jewish.

  2. Tony / Aug 22 2007 10:49 pm

    I’d love to try to make it from dried chickpeas. I’m a little scared, however, as I have never really mastered the art of cooking beans.

    The olive oil idea is interesting. I used the cilantro only because it was what I had on hand.

    Kosher salt, as I understand, is used for koshering meat. It isn’t kosher itself. But hey, I’m just a Catholic boy so maybe I’m wrong. In any case, I don’t use it for any religious reason, I like it because it is not iodized and has a nice course texture that makes it easy to pinch on to food.

Trackbacks

  1. Really Great Hummus « Busy Nothings

Leave a Reply

