Skip to content
October 25, 2007 / Tony

Ribeye Steaks with Billionaire’s Bacon Butter

Yesterday was the last grilling day of 2007.  The weather is turning colder and my charcoal supply just ran out.  It’s always a bittersweet time of year for me.  I hate to give up the ability to grill but I am excited to start making those cold-weather comfort dishes again.  Anyway, for the last hurrah, I went to Meats by John and Wayne and picked out an enormous ribeye steak.  I didn’t know the steak I chose was going to be over a pound but it was and even though I didn’t want that much meat, I really couldn’t refuse.  It was absolutely beautiful. 

The recipe I started with was Hickory Grilled Ribeye Steaks with Bacon Molasses Butter at Epicurious.  It aroused my interest because it basically used Billionaire’s Bacon and butter as a sauce for steaks.  Readers of this blog know what a sucker I am for butter and for that bacon.  The twist on Billionaire’s Bacon in the Epicurious recipe was to use molasses instead of brown sugar while roasting the bacon.  So, I was interested and it was my intention to follow the recipe as closely as I could.  But, when I arrived home, I found that I couldn’t find any molasses so I had to revert back to the original Billionaire’s Bacon recipe.  The only other modification I made to the recipe was to omit the smoke element.  Epicurious asks that hickory chips be thrown on the grill while cooking.  I like smoke but for the amount of time these steaks are on the grill, the benefit of the hickory chips is pretty minimal.  So I skipped it.  Here’s my modified recipe:

Ribeye Steaks with Billionaire’s Bacon Butter

8 slices of bacon

1 cup brown sugar

8 T butter

4 ribeye steaks about 1 pound each

Kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Line a baking sheet with foil.  Lightly oil the foil.  Place about half of the brown sugar on the baking sheet and then lay the bacon on the brown sugar, keeping each slice separate from the other.  Sprinkle the remaining brown sugar on the bacon.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or until the bacon is done but not crispy.  Cool slightly and remove from the pan.  When the bacon is completely cool, chop finely and mix with the butter. 

Season ribeye steaks and then grill to the desired doneness.  I like to do this right on top of my charcoal chimney but that’s just me.  When done, remove the steaks from the grill and cover with foil.  Let them sit for a couple of minutes and then serve with the butter mixture placed on top of the steaks. 

This dish is amazing.  The butter is just a wonderful combination of smoky, sweet, salty, and buttery.  I could almost eat it by itself.  It works great with the flavors in the ribeye steak, especially the marbled fat indicative of a ribeye.  The fats just seem to meld together so well.  This is definitely a winner and it is so easy to make.  Here’s a picture of my steak with some homemade french fries:

img_1326.jpg

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. chickslovechocolate / Oct 25 2007 2:23 pm

    looks awesome and i think i will make it at the log cabin over the weekend!
    thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Mexican Spice-Rubbed Rib Eyes with Lime Butter « Busy Nothings
  2. Grilled Rib Eye Steaks with Bourbon-Shallot Butter « Busy Nothings

Leave a Reply

