Skip to content
November 7, 2007 / Tony

Sweet Potato Ravioli with Brown Butter Sauce

img_1411.jpg

I thought I was brilliant in thinking that leftover Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Sherry would make an excellent ravioli.  But after tasting last night’s dinner (pictured above), I was feeling a little less than brilliant.  I suppose the idea was fine but my execution was terrible becuase I took a shortcut and had a very heavy hand in seasoning.  So the final dish was less than stellar. 

The shortcut was to use wonton wrappers instead of fresh pasta dough.  I had gotten the idea from Bon Appetit magazine a few years back and had always wanted to give it a try.  This was especially true since I no longer have a pasta machine available to me.  So I bought some wrappers and constructed some ravioli.  They went together easily enough but when I cooked them, they just didn’t have the same texture as real pasta dough.  It didn’t have the “bite” I want in a ravioli.  They were flimsy.  That’s not necessarily bad but I think I’ll stick to real pasta dough next time.

My second mistake was to use way too much thyme and salt.  I don’t know why I got so seasoning happy but there was just too much flavor, if there can be such a thing.  If you make this recipe, take this advice: go easy on the thyme. 

Otherwise, I think this isn’t really that bad of an idea.  An alternate sauce to the recipe below would be simply butter, sage, salt, and pepper.  Here’s the recipe:

Sweet Potato Ravioli with Brown Butter Sauce, inspired by this recipe

leftover Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Sherry

Spinach 

Wonton skins

1 egg white, beaten

Butter

Balsamic vinegar

Fresh thyme, chopped

Kosher salt

Pepper

I gave up trying to think of exact proportions for this recipe.  Just make as many ravioli as you want or have leftovers for, and adjust the rest of the ingredients accordingly.  To make the ravioli, place one wrapper on the work surface.  Place about 1/2 T of sweet potatoes in the middle of the wrapper and brush the rest of the exposed surface of the wraper with egg white.  Take another wrapper and place it over the sweet potato.  Press the two wrappers together to adhere, trying to get as much air out of the filling pocket as possible.  Place on a sheet pan that is lined with parchment paper or plastic wrap.

Saute the spinach in a saute pan in a little bit of olive oil.   When wilted, remove to the plates.  Brown an appropriate amount of butter in the same saute pan over medium heat.  When brown, add some balsamic vinegar and the thyme.  Meanwhile, cook the ravioli in a pot of boiling, salted water.  It should take about 3 minutes to cook.  Carefully place the ravioli in the saute pan and spoon the butter over the ravioli.  Place the ravioli over the spinach and spoon any additional sauce over the ravioli.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

