Skip to content
November 16, 2007 / Tony

Italian Noodle Cake with Marinara Sauce

I was really trying to be creative with this dish.  I’ve made an Asian-style noodle cake, which I enjoy very much.  The crispiness of the noodles work so darn well with the barbeque pork and the soy-flavoring.  Last night, I tried to meld that crispiness in an Italian setting.  I mixed some leftover spaghetti with a four-cheese blend and pan-fried it till crisp.  The result was not what I expected.  The noodles did get a bit cripsy like I wanted but it didn’t seem to work well with the rest of the dish.  If anything, the crispiness was distracting while I ate it.  I found myself wishing the dish was more creamy than crispy.  Next time, I’ll add some ricotta cheese to the mix (for creaminess) and simply bake the noodles.  I bet that will turn out better.  Here’s the recipe anyway:

Italian Noodle Cake with Marinara Sauce

3 cups cold spaghetti noodles that have been tossed with a bit of olive oil

3/4 cup shredded Italian four cheese blend

Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Marinara sauce (try this one or this one)

In a bowl, mix together the spaghetti, cheese and black pepper.  Preheat a 10 inch non-stick saute pan with a little bit of olive oil over medium heat.  When hot, place the spaghetti mixture in the pan, spreading it around to form a nice even layer.  Let it cook, undisturbed, for about five minutes or until the bottom becomes brown and crisp.  Then flip.  You can either simply use your wrist and flip it using a tossing motion (a la fancy TV chef) like a pancake.  Or using a cutting board, invert the cake on the board and then slide it back into the pan.  Cook until that side is done.  Remove from the pan, cut into quarters and serve with the marinara sauce. 

Here’s what it looks like:

img_1450.jpg

Leave a Reply

