Skip to content
December 19, 2007 / Tony

Roast Kosher Chicken

Luckily for me, I received a real roasting pan for Christmas.  I mean a heavy gauge, stainless steel model with serious handles and a sturdy rack.  It’s really a beautiful thing.  Why did I want it?  Well, to roast meat and be able to make delicious sauces afterwards, why else? 

My first foray into this roasting thing involved something I have never cooked before, a kosher chicken.  I am not Jewish and I do not pretend to understand anything about koshering food.  All I can say is that I’m pretty confident that chicken was salted in some way before I got it.  I thought that was the case so I rinsed it before I put in in my roaster and stuffed it with a lemon, rosemary, lavender, and garlic.  I salted it a bit too, I just couldn’t help myself.

I then roasted it using a technique from the Joy of Cooking.  You lay the chicken on it’s side and then turn it after awhile and then eventually cook it breast side up.  I have to admit, it made for a pretty juicy and tasty bird.  The white meat of the breast was not dried out at all but since I was using a new kind of chicken and a new roasting method, I can’t say for sure what made the chicken stay moist and juicy.  Most likely, it was both. 

After the chicken came out, I took it out of the roaster, and then started on the pan sauce.  First, I deglazed the pan with sherry (real sherry, not that hideous supermarket kind) and then reduced chicken broth in it.  It made a really tasty, if just a bit salty, au jus type sauce.  As you’ll see in the picture, it was a bit loose and I could have reduced it longer.  But, I have some really delicious bread from the Turtle Bread Company and I wanted a lot of juice to sop up. 

Anyway, dinner was delicious.  I accompanied the chicken with Green Beans with Citrus Zest.  Here’s some pictures.  The first is the roasted chicken in the roasting pan and the second is the plated dish. 

img_1681.jpg

img_1684.jpg

And here’s the recipe:

Roast Kosher Chicken

1 4 lb kosher chicken

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1 lemon, quartered

2 sprigs rosemary

2 sprigs lavender

Olive oil

1/4 cup sherry

1 cup chicken broth

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Rinse chicken and pat dry with paper towels.  Rub with a bit of olive oil.  Stuff cavity with garlic, lemon, rosemary, and lavender.  Truss the chicken if necessary.  Place the chicken on it’s side on the roasting rack and place in the oven for 25 minutes.  Then, flip the chicken over so it is resting on the other side and roast for another 25 minutes.  Then place the chicken breast side up and roast until the internal temperature of the deepest part of the thigh is 160 degrees.  (If you insist on well-done chicken, cook it to 170). 

Remove the chicken from then oven and let it rest on a cutting board, tented with foil.  Place your roasting pan over two burners set at medium high heat.  Pour the sherry (carefully, please) into the pan and let it reduce to a glaze while scraping up all those brown bits in the pan with a wooden spoon.  Then add the chicken broth and reduce to your desired consistency.  Cut the chicken up and pour the sauce over it and serve. 

Leave a Reply

