Skip to content
December 22, 2007 / Tony

Spinach Balls with "Yellow" Mayonnaise

img_1724.jpg

This recipe comes courtesy of Nancy Celis. 

Spinach Balls

2 10 oz packages frozen spinach, cooked and drained

4 eggs, beaten

3/4 cup Parmesan cheese

3/4 cup melted butter

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 1/2 cups Pepperidge Farms crumb stuffing dressing

Stir all ingredients together and let rest for 20 minutes.  Roll into 1 inch balls.  Bake at 350 degrees on a sheet tray or cookie sheet for about 20 minutes or until heated through.

“Yellow” Mayonnaise 

Mix a bit of mayonnaise, some fresh lemon juice, and some turmeric in a bowl.  There should be enough turmeric to color the mayonnaise slightly yellow.  (Sorry, no amounts given here, that’s the way it was passed on to me.)

These are really wonderful.  A bit crispy on the outside and just flat out tasty on the inside.  There’s a simple richness to them that is undeniable and the spinach pairs beautifully with the Parmesan cheese and the spices.  A great holiday treat!

A couple notes:  1) These balls can be made ahead and frozen.  Of course, if baking them frozen, increase the baking time.  2) Do a good job of draining and drying the spinach.  I just use a whole bunch of paper towels.  If you don’t, the end product will just be too wet and you might have a problem with them retaining their shape.  3)  I don’t use all the butter called for in the recipe.  I usually use 1/2 cup of butter instead of the 3/4 cup asked for in the recipe.  They seem to turn out alright even with the reduced fat content.  4)  I like to mix everything up with my stand mixer.  Even a double recipe fits in the bowl just fine.  5)  With my apologies to Nancy, I just made up the “Yellow” Mayonnaise name.  I’m not sure if it even had a name but I thought naming something turmeric mayonnaise just didn’t sound appetizing.  Maybe there’s a better idea out there.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristin / Dec 31 2007 3:06 pm

    Hi Tony,
    Hope you had a great holiday!
    I make these, and have found that you don’t really have to cook the spinach. I thaw it in the microwave, dump it in a strainer, and then use my hand to push out the water. When almost all of the liquid is gone, I pick up the whole mess and give it a few extra squeezes. No paper towels, just two messy wet hands. Try and see what you think. I agree they’re yummy!
    Am expanding my own culinary horizons, as I made my first-ever pate (made the aspic as well) for our New Year’s Eve party!
    One last note–Ken has been asked to run for State Bar president. Ruth asked if he could take it if he lost….
    🙂 Kristin

  2. Kristin / Dec 31 2007 3:15 pm

    Hi Tony,
    I make these, and agree they’re yummy! I have found that you don’t really need to cook the spinach. I thaw it in the microwave, then dump it in a strainer and puch the liquid out with my hand. when almost all of the liquid is gone, I pick up the whole mess and give it a couple of extra squeezes. No paper towels, just two wet, messy hands.
    Hope you had a good holiday!
    Krsitin
    P.S. Ken was asked to run for State Bar President. Evidently, Ruth asked if he could survive if he lost…

  3. Kristin / Jan 2 2008 12:11 pm

    Ok, so I’m an idiot! Thought I lost the first comment, but obviously didn’t. Hope you had a great New Year–I celebrated by making my first-ever pate with aspic for our party…

  4. Tony / Jan 7 2008 12:54 pm

    Kristin, excellent idea about the spinach. Actually, I think the spinach is already cooked so, why cook it again (and then again when you bake it)? By cooking it less, there’s probably a fresher spinach flavor.

Leave a Reply

