Skip to content
January 23, 2008 / Tony

Pancetta and Fried Egg Sandwich

My first crack at using my homemade Pancetta was a simple sandwich of fried Pancetta and a fried egg with some grated Parmesan cheese.  It was simple but I wanted a simple recipe so I could concentrate on tasting the Pancetta.  Here’s what it looked like:

 img_1902.jpg

Let me tell you, it was delicious.  The Pancetta was richly fatty (in the best sense of the word) and earthy that was dynamite with the soft eggs and their gooey insides.  The Parmesan cheese added a nice sharp flavor note.  As much as I like bacon (and I really do), somehow I felt that the Pancetta was “porkier” and more complex in flavor both due to the lack of smoking.  I can’t wait to eat more Pancetta. 

Leave a Reply

