Skip to content
May 17, 2008 / Tony

Dinner at Up the Creek

 

“Eh.”  Is that enough of a review because it sure sums up my feelings about Up the Creek.  It’s just another run of the mill chain restaurant with average food at above average prices.  I’ve had the experience before and, sadly, I’m sure I’ll have it again.  Yet, I’ll try to give it some attention anyway.

Up the Creek is, apparently, an expanding chain with locations in the Deep South, Oklahoma, and now, surprisingly enough, Fargo.  It bills itself as a steak and seafood place and, in the strictest sense of the words, it is.  But if you really want good seafood (I didn’t try the steak), this isn’t the place to go.  As soon as our server approached, I asked what I thought was a perfectly reasonable question at a seafood restaurant:  “What’s fresh today?”  She dutifully informed me that all the fish comes in at the same time, frozen on a truck.  “Eh.”  How perfectly mundane. 

Nevertheless, I ordered a fish entrée anyway.  I ordered the Mahi Mahi, blackened, with a Citrus Pesto Butter.  It was fine but it wasn’t exciting and it wasn’t fresh.  A bit of spice that went well with the brightly flavored butter.  It chose some hand breaded to order onion rings to go on the side.  They were fine but not especially crisp or flavorful.  There was some ghasthly remoulade type sauce with it.  The entree also came with an average side-salad to start.  What else can I say but, “Eh?” 

Well, I would write more but I just don’t think it deserves anymore.  My advice is that if you go, don’t expect too much and then you won’t be disappointed.

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jeff / Jun 11 2008 5:39 pm

    I had the same reaction. And the same meal. I really like mahi mahi and while my meal was not terrible–I love spicy dishes–it was not one that made we think, “ah, I want to come back here.” Unlike, say Perkins, I would not refuse to go again, and maybe I need to give it another try. I have talked to one other person who really likes it, one who hated it, and a couple of others who thought it was acceptable.

Leave a Reply

