Skip to content
June 8, 2008 / Tony

Drinks at Teaberry

Teaberry is a brand new establishment in downtown Fargo that offers Boba teas.  These drinks are mixtures of tea, flavorings, milk, and little chunks (or balls if you like) of tapioca starch that sit on the bottom of the cup.  A very large straw is then used to suck up the chunks of tapioca along with the tasty drink surrounding it.  Teaberry also serves some cocktail-like tea beverages (non-alcoholic) and a few sandwiches. 

It is a very zen-like inside.  The owner told us that all of the construction had been done by his wife, his business partner, and himself.  I was impressed.  Everything inside was clean and soothing with just the right amount of decoration to keep things interesting.  Here’s a picture:

There are a number of flavorings that you can choose for your Boba tea.  If memory serves, green tea, strawberry, taro, green apple, passion fruit, and raspberry are on the menu (along with many others that I cannot remember).  We inquired as to what the owner’s favorite Boba tea was and he said it was a combination of green apple and passion fruit.  Katelyn ordered that one and I chose the taro (another recommendation).  Both of the drinks were wonderful.  The green apple and passion fruit was pretty sweet but with a bit of tartness from the green apple and the presence of the neutral flavored tapioca chunks, it really worked.  The taro was less sweet and had sort of an earthy feel to it, which probably shouldn’t be surprising since it is the root (or corm to be more precise) that is primarily used as a foodstuff.  It thought it elegant in this drink as it added just the right bit of sophistication.  And they were both great on a bike ride on a summer’s day.  Here’s what the drinks looked like:

The second picture is of me using a straw (which I generally eschew with vigor) to drink the Boba tea in Island Park in Fargo.  The wide straw is absolutely necessary because the tapioca chunks would plug up any normal-sized straw.

We also had one other drink.  It was a white gourd cold tea “cocktail.”  (It can be seen in the picture above.)  It may have been the most refreshing thing I have ever tasted.  Sure, I was very thirsty from the bike ride I was on but this drink was amazing.  Just a hint of sweetness was matched with orange and what seemed like green tea (I could very well be wrong here).  And then, on top of all of those flavors, was the white gourd which was, much like the taro, a bit earthy and understatedly full-flavored.  We both loved it. 

Teaberry is found in downtown Fargo in the space where Salad Express used to be.  The address is 119 Broadway, Fargo, ND 58103.  I hope that everyone will go out and support a great little business like this that serves wonderful stuff. 

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate / Jun 28 2008 9:26 pm

    This might have been the best day of the summer! Great weather, good friend, nice ride, and fantastic Boba tea!!! I can honestly say we had a little taste of heaven that day.

  2. DocMara / Jul 16 2008 7:30 pm

    By the way, I’ve been there three times now. I’m pretty sure “Boba Tea” must mean “Crack Cocaine” in SOME language, because I am hooked. Oh yes, try the red bean. Sounds terrible, but is unbelievably good.

  3. Jeff Zens / Aug 15 2008 5:26 pm

    This is a great post. Keep up the good work! GOT BOBA?

  4. Joyride / Aug 25 2008 11:47 am

    OK… My absolute favorite flavor of Boba Teas: Lychee and Red Bean (often used in Polynesian treats) mixed…
    and it’s got to have Jellies AND Pearls. Now that IS boba-crack.

  5. nancy / Sep 8 2008 1:34 pm

    i am so happy there is a teaberry in fargo! finally! 🙂

  6. akineko / Sep 26 2008 4:01 pm

    I love bubble tea a lot!!! it is amazing that now we have a bubble tea cafe in Fargo-Moorhead area!!! I love the owner of the cafe !!! (even though I don’t know him or her) 😀

  7. Courtney / May 20 2009 11:59 am

    Teaberry is the most amazing thing ever! right on! 🙂

  8. Dani / Oct 1 2011 11:41 am

    strawberry watermelon fresh fruit boba ALL THE WAY BAYBAY! 🙂

  9. anti aging serum 2011 / Nov 28 2011 8:08 pm

    auravie anti aging serum Maturing is a gift that one method to not certain it is possible to carry. Soon after studying the article underneath you will learn suggestions on how you can time softly not to mention

  10. gayla / Apr 25 2012 12:40 pm

    WONDERFUL! I just stopped @ teaberry for the first time,but it will not be my last.One of the owners waited on me.She was very nice and friendly.After taking her time to talk me through the menu choices I asked what her favorites were.I then decided to go with one of them.I had a boba with banana,alvacado,and belgium chocolate.I am hooked!I believe this will be a regular stop when I am downtown.She also told me they have music on friday night and children are welcome.Soulds like a good family outing too me 😉

  11. Premium Raspberry Ketone / Oct 28 2012 7:35 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create
    this website yourself or did you hire someone to do
    it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

Leave a Reply

