Skip to content
September 24, 2008 / katelynb

Tuna Gravy with green peas

BLOGGER: KATELYN

It’s these first few days of fall when I’ve really started to crave something comforting, something creamy, and something that reminds me of home. I’d been telling Tony about this fabulous dish for days and finally surprised him with my Tuna Gravy rendition tonight. My mom used to make this dish for my sister and I when we were kids, although I don’t remember the fresh parsley and I think we had it over white bread, I also added the peas. I emailed her to request the recipe and the funny thing is my mom didn’t have one! It’s the dishes that are made from memory that are usually the best anyway and each new bite was just as satisfying as the last.

Look it’s cooking:

 

Here is the recipe:

two cans tuna in water, drained

3 tablespoons butter

yellow onion, chopped

handful of chopped parsley

2 cups frozen peas

1 1/2 cups milk

a bit of flour to thicken

salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in a pan and add chopped onion stir occasionally until softened. Add parsley. add a bit of flour. stir in milk. add tuna and peas. Bring to a bubble, reduce heat and allow to thicken. Serve over biscuits.

 Just like this:

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tony / Sep 26 2008 12:22 pm

    While I had some initial misgivings about this dish, I found it to be a hearty and very tasty dish. The tuna added a slight meatiness without overpowering the dish. I contributed the biscuits.

  2. Alee / Oct 17 2010 8:04 pm

    OMG I have been looking everywhere for this recipe! My grandma used to make it for me and my cousin when we were little only she didnt use parsley! <333333333

  3. Danica / Dec 3 2012 4:42 pm

    My mother made something similar and I am going to try your version. BTW we served it on waffles 🙂

Leave a Reply

