Skip to content
April 15, 2009 / katelynb

Introducing…Emma Jane!

BLOGGER: KATELYN

img_08522

img_0854

We arrived at Merit Care for our scheduled induction at 7 am on Monday the 13th.  Both of us very excited and not knowing what to expect, we got settled in for what we knew would be a long day of laboring.  I was started on Pitocin and they broke my water at 9:00.  After that, things starting heating up a bit and the cruel pains of contractions kicked in.  Changing positions helped at first, eating ice chips and drinking water also helped.  I was asked several times to rate my pain on a scale from zero to ten. When I reached a seven on the pain scale, I felt like I couldn’t stay that way much longer and requested the epidural.  The epidural took about twenty minutes to administer and when it finally took effect I remember saying “I feel like I’m on the beach!”  The warm spotlights helped too, I felt amazing.  Unfortunately this feeling wore off after about an hour and I was back to feeling a seven or eight on the pain scale.  Not knowing what to expect because it was my first delivery, I was hesitant to complain or alert the nurse of this.  I absolutely could not take it anymore and she suggested we order another and get it reinserted.  It was the best thing I have ever done because in a matter of minutes I was back on the beach!  I sat content for about three hours until it was time to start pushing.  Tony was a fantastic coach and took over the task of counting and holding my feet.  It helped that there was only he and I and one nurse in the room for the majority of the labor – it really gave him the chance to get involved.  Even through the pushing I was happy and smiling. I swear I could barely feel a thing. The only part that upset me was when Tony would count to ten he drug out the number nine much too long, I was really going till twelve I think!  Our doctor walked in the door at just the right moment, Emma’s head was out so she put on gloves and pulled the rest of her out.  Tony and I did not know if we were having a boy or a girl so when she was born I was very curious and expected someone to shout out the old “It’s a boy” or “It’s a girl.”  When no one did, I asked Tony “What is it?!” and that’s when he told me she was a girl!  We got our girl:  Emma Jane Breidenbach born at 9:27 pm.  She weighed 6 pounds, 14 ounces and was 19 inches long.  She looks so much like her daddy and is perfect in every way!

img_0903

img_0925

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tony / Apr 15 2009 10:14 pm

    I just wanted to let everyone know how much of a trooper Katelyn was during labor. Even when she was feeling some intense pain, she was calm and collected. The meanest thing she said all day was telling me not to talk to her during a contraction.

  2. katelynb / Apr 16 2009 9:44 am

    I also remember telling you not to breathe, that was a little mean too. 🙂 You were awesome and you’re making a great daddy. I love ya!

  3. Grandma Rena / Apr 16 2009 10:18 am

    Congratuations…. Such a good looking family. Little Emma is an adorable doll. Will Sunday ever come so we can hold her? Love and Hugs, Grandma Rena and Pa Pa G

  4. Monica h / Apr 17 2009 2:51 am

    Can I get an epidural and some spot lights? I’d love to be on the beach right now 🙂

    Congratulations once again. You both look so happy and she is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

