Skip to content
January 7, 2011 / katelynb

Do Tantrums Make a Mommy Stronger?

Moments in the last few months have been anything but easy for Tony and I as parents and Emma Jane as a child that doesn’t like to leave the store without a treat, sit in a shopping cart, be carried anywhere, wear a hat or mittens in the car, sit through a church service, look but not touch, pick up toys, take a nap, leave Dinosaur Play Land after a half hour of running free, etc. etc. etc…I don’t want to get into too many details that might embarrass her when she is older and give anyone the opportunity to judge or criticize my parenting practices but I will tell you she spent close to a minute lying in a snowbank getting her frustrations out, she has been carried out of stores kicking and screaming, and has rarely been shushed to silence with candy (not anymore anyways…)

People say it is just a phase, it’s the “Terrible Twos” but I refuse to refer to her recent change in behavior as that, even though at times I really, really think I could agree.  I am HAPPY that she is curious and full of energy.  I am GRATEFUL she can walk and run and reach and touch everything in her sight.  I am EXCITED that she wants to play and jump and kick and scream.  Granted there is a time and place for these behaviors and a quiet place of worship or the backseat of a car is not exactly ideal, I have to keep reminding myself that she is a growing girl and she is almost TWO… TERRIFICALLY TWO!!

A picture just moments after a Tantrum:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rena / Jan 8 2011 1:07 am

    You both look like winners here. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Nancy K B / Jan 10 2011 10:41 am

    You all will be FINE! 🙂 I personally think kiddos go through a period of extra frustration (for them and for parents) when their desires to communicate do not match their language abilities. She can’t tell you what she wants…but she can tell you what she does not want.

    This too shall pass…hang in there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

