Skip to content
January 17, 2011 / katelynb

Even Windows Deserve a Treat!

After two years of living in this house with a sunny room that has broken blinds mounted OUTSIDE of the window frames, I have a few things to say…

  1. To whomever chose these awful window treatments and covered up the gorgeous window frames… WHY?!
  2. Shame on us for waiting so long to change things!
  3. Hallelujah! We’ve got gorgeous curtains (and on the cheap!)

Here is the only picture I could find of the way things were:

About a year ago, I took the blinds off completely and we went without any window covering at all.  It was crazy, but I couldn’t look at those blinds for one more day and I truly thought NOT having anything on the windows would motivate us to go out and get some new ones, fast. Unfortunately, that did not happen.

I think it was this September that we finally got around to picking out something.  I had the hardest time deciding what I wanted and wasn’t sure we could justify spending $30 or more per panel on a house I know we won’t be in for many more years.  It would have costs us $200 or more for curtains and rods and everything we’d need to finish the job and that is low-balling it!  I just knew I didn’t want to spend THAT MUCH on these two windows when I knew could find something I’d be happy enough with for much less.  After a trip to Target to search for something that would ‘DO’ this is what we came home with for a total of $60 (remember we did the exact same thing to an identical window in the room):

Before we fixed them to the wall, I knew I wanted them hung higher than the window frame to get that illusion of a bigger, longer window and a higher ceiling.  Well we hung them up high and then looked at the bottoms and they were a good 10-12 inches off the floor..oops!  It was definitely not how I imagined my full drapes to look- I was going for the mounted high and slightly sweeping the floor kind of thing.  They were a bit boring anyways, all one color and a little stiff the way they were just bunched on the curtain rod.  They were fine, but I wasn’t happy yet.

Today I was at Lowe’s looking for a bathroom light fixture (long story for another post) and I spotted these little darlings:

First of all, they are extremely trendy right now and I have been secretly coveting them for some time now anyway.  The price was right at just $5 for a 14 pack.  I got two packs and no bathroom fixture.  When I got home, I did a little rearranging of the sunny room (that is what I call our upstairs living area) and I am very, very pleased!  You’ll also be happy to know we’ve gained a few extra inches of length with these babies!  The curtains are not yet sweeping the floor, but we’re getting closer!

Now don’t even think for ONE SECOND this means I am “finished” with this project.  I have plans to put some cute ruffles on them (made from my existing polka dotted shower curtain that happens to match the room’s paint color quite nicely.) then who knows…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rena / Jan 19 2011 12:05 am

    Sweetie, you amaze me………….what else can I say???????

  2. Melissa / Jan 19 2011 10:30 pm

    I too have been wanting to put up curtains up in our living room/kitchen area but have avoided it because of the cost. It would be 3 windows plus a patio. Too expensive. Love your genius curtain holder idea. I see what you were commenting about on my page. It seems like a super easy fix to make them a little longer while giving them that sophisticated feel 🙂

Leave a Reply

