Skip to content
January 24, 2011 / katelynb

Fixer Upper Bathroom Project.

I have one tiny complaint about our bathroom — it is small.  Okay, another one: it is lacking storage space.  Well I guess I have to complain about the floor as well. Okay, okay.. I’m not crazy about the paint job either.  Bright white tiles with grout that is breaking up and crumbling like sand beneath our feet… these things all signal time to take serious action, but the last and final straw that threw us me over the edge was this:

yeah, it’s ugly and outdated but it worked and it had tons of storage space.  What didn’t work so well about it was the mirrors would no longer stay in there.  Each time we opened the doors, which was multiple times a day, one or both of the heavy mirror-ed doors would fall on me- scary!  So down that bad boy came and off we went to Home Depot, and Lowes, and Menards and every darn place in town and online to find a replacement. Our options were in deed very limited since medicine cabinets are just not really going into new houses anymore, especially the ones with the light bar attached; there just wasn’t much to choose from.  This also got me thinking – we might have a bit of an antique here!  We did find a light we agreed was nice and fine and would do at the hardware store and Oh! do you remember that mirror I snatched for less than $20 at the thrift store  a few weeks back?  Well what do you know, we already had brushed nickel fixtures and accessories in the bathroom… the mirror matched perfectly!  So off the bedroom dresser it came and onto the bathroom wall it went:

Now what to do about that awful purple pain that was covered by the old medicine cabinet? The previous owners had the bathroom painted purple with butterfly decals, so naturally, Tony, I assume went with the most masculine color he could find to cover it up- I don’t blame him!  But now, I really want to lighten up the color in there… maybe tie in the brown we have in the hall and the neutrals throughout the rest of the house.  I’m thinking that grayish-blue or something like that and then some larger tiles with that stone look.  I’ve also been looking at some DIY board and batten and falling in love with it- plus it seems so easy to do!  I might have to bat my eyes at Dad to bring the power tools and a little help in that department this spring.

We’ll see what we come up with.  For the sake of my husband and all the “crafties” he has to put up with on a daily basis, I want to keep the bathroom borderline masculine,or at least a nice neutral.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melissa / Jan 24 2011 10:23 pm

    Ooh I love where you put the new mirror with the lights above it. Very modern and clean looking.

  2. katelynb / Jan 24 2011 11:17 pm

    thanks! I can’t wait to do more in there – a different color paint is going to make a world of difference…I just know it!

Trackbacks

  1. Bathroom: Painted! « Busy Nothings

Leave a Reply

