Skip to content
February 10, 2011 / katelynb

Mod Podge Sink Step

It has been so cold here in North Dakota!  I am really trying hard not to complain… I did chose to live here and this is where we have chosen to stay so we just have to get used to spending more time inside during these long, chilly months.  I am just happy there are not too many of them left — everyday, I am dreaming up another project or finding something else to be done and I think I might be driving Tony bananas!

On my way home from work this morning, Emma and I stopped at the craft store for a few things: batting and thread (for a secret project we are working on) poster board for a project we finished today (will post when it is hung) and finally every crafter’s best friend, Mod Podge!  Here is a look at a completed (?) project:

Let me tell you a little bit about this cute stool.  First of all, it has been in the house since I met Tony.  I’m guessing it was a sink step for his nephew who used to live here as well.  It was never painted, a bit dirty and definitely showed signs of wear.  Over the past few days, I have added layer upon layer of brown spray paint and then attempted to do some stripes (red and white to match our kitchen) The stripes ended up being too hard to do and just looked messy so I thought the next best thing to do was decoupage!  I wanted to put a cute saying or image but NOT Emma’s name because I knew this thing would be around forever and would later be used by other children as well, that’s when I came up with the idea of using pages from a storybook.

The book I chose, “Ten Apples Up On Top”  was perfect because I really liked the vintage-y, worn in, loved too-much feel of the pages and of the book itself.  Tony recently thrifted the book for .50 or so… so proud of him!  After reading the book and not finding any certain page that grabbed me, I just went with these two plain pages.

Now, if you’ve never done decoupage before you must know… it is so easy!  The hardest part is having the patience to let it dry before slapping on another coat.  My simple instructions are as follows: First spread a thin layer of Mod Podge onto the surface of your stool, I used an old but clean paint brush.  Lay your paper over the Mod Podge and slick down using your hand.  Walk away and let it dry for 30 min to 1 hour.  Come back and paint a layer of Mod Podge over the paper (it looks milky, like glue but don’t worry, it will dry clear)  Wait for it to dry (20 mins. or so) Repeat, Repeat, Repeat.

You can see after mine was dry, I took some sand paper to the stool and gave it a little rub to make it look even more aged… love it!  The only thing I think I should have done is placed the pages closer together so it really looks like one single rectangular image on the top instead of two.  Maybe I will leave it as is, maybe I will think of something funky to cover up that gap in the middle… I already have an idea!  Here is a closer look at my sanding and that funny middle part I am talking about:

Go buy a cheap stool (I’m not suggesting Target.  These are over-populating thrift stores and garage sales, people!!! Go get a good deal!!)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melissa / Feb 15 2011 8:56 pm

    I keep wanting to mod podge but haven’t done anything yet. Seems like cool stuff. Cute step stool and LOVE the book you chose 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Mod Podge Sink Step = Finished! « Busy Nothings

Leave a Reply

