Skip to content
February 21, 2011 / katelynb

A Big Bag of Scraps

I was browsing Craigslist one morning like I often do and found an ad for a “Big Bag of Fabric…Free” and I jumped on it.  Luckily, the ad had just gone up so I must have been one of the firsts to respond.  The gal told me it was a large bag 4′ x 1′ x 1′ full of fabric, most of which were large pieces.  I was excited and couldn’t wait to get my hands on this grab bag!  When I picked up the bag of fabric, and called my best gal pal, Alissa over to dig through it we were a bit disappointed in what we found.

A good half of the bag was filled with tiny scraps much to small to do anything with.  Some of the large pieces were so country bumpkin or outdated (not in a cute vintage sort of way) or just plain ugly, so there was a good deal that was set aside for donation and some others we agreed would just be tossed in the trash.  We made piles of what we wanted and tried to envision projects for the fabric we chose to keep.

I got to work this morning on something cute and fun — not very absorbent, maybe just for looks…

The main thing I wanted to try with this project was the ruffle… I have BIG plans involving ruffles for another project I will be attempting soon. (maybe later this week?)  I just want to make sure I get some good practice before I dive into it.  Isn’t the button great too?  It matched perfectly and was something I just pulled out of my button jar.  Do you have a button jar?  You should! I have so many cute an awesome buttons in there that came as extras to my clothes.. fabric covered ones, pearl ones, even a few tiny silk buttons that were extras from my wedding gown. (I’m keeping these for something very, very special… not quite sure what yet!)

Anyways, I just loved this fabric the moment I saw it in the big messy pile.  It reminded me of my great Grandma Margaret.  It’s grandma-like right?  I think it looks a little too small for Emma, but would be perfect on a younger baby girl (anyone know one, have one?) Here is my cute ALMOST 2 YEAR OLD showing it off before we add the velcro to the back:

p.s. Do you see the writing on the very left end of the ruffle?  It says “garden”… it’s the name of the print.  Well actually is says “GARDE”.. the “N” got cut off but who cares!  How cute is that?!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rena / Feb 21 2011 9:30 pm

    Love the Grandma Margaret thing… (how old do I have to be before it’s a Nana Rena thing?)

  2. katelynb / Feb 21 2011 10:10 pm

    you’re still a young pup in my book!

Leave a Reply

