Skip to content
February 22, 2011 / katelynb

Sometimes I feel like “Rookie Mom”

There are certain times when I just feel like “DUH… What were you thinking” in regards to parenting things.  Here is a perfect example from yesterday’s afternoon nap:

I know what you’re probably thinking something along the lines of “poor little insomniac” or “awww… that’s sweet”.  True! I am thinking the same thing.  But look closer…

I put her to bed with a book.  I thought she could look at it and turn the pages and babble herself to sweet dreams.  Oh boy, was I wrong!!  I came up to check on her and found her standing on top of the book ripping pages out like a mad woman!  Check out all the mess on the floor:

I had a little laugh and of course grabbed the camera.  I knew this would make a great blog post!  I’m just so relieved this wasn’t another library book.  I did put her to bed one time with a hard little library book and she ripped the paper off the back cover… oops!  You’d think I would have learned.

Do these things happen to anyone else?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Posky / Feb 22 2011 12:55 pm

    Yes, all parents who have toddlers that hate books, have this problem.

    Actually, it’s pretty common. I worked at a library years ago and we actually held a class for toddlers and parents that taught them how to respect books. Read with her and, if she gets too hands-on with a book, gently reminder that we don’t do that to books. Then give her some regular paper to rip up.

    Then again, your kid just might like trashing stuff. Either way, she did a number on that book.

  2. rena / Feb 22 2011 6:39 pm

    Oh my gooosssh …………she is so darn cute and so is her little brother .It really makes my day when you have added some thing new to your blog.

Leave a Reply

