Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / katelynb

Sick Baby = Happy Mom (?!)

Before you go ahead and judge me, let me explain…

Emma has a bit of a cold (?)  She suffers from a runny nose and cough, some congestion and fatigue for sure.  The last few days she has spent plenty of time sleeping and snuggling and just being sweet as close as she can possibly get to me… this is not normal!  This is really the first time in her little almost 2 year old life that she has felt poorly so it is a little concerning, but mostly just something Tony and I feel cool and confident about.

I am thinking today about just how lucky the three of us are that in our situation we are able to all spend time together and not miss out on too much else.  What I mean by that is for instance, this morning, I have already been to work and Tony was able to stay home and be with Emma.  Now I am home and he has gone to work and I am able to stay home and be with a sick little Emma Jane.  Later he will come home to stay with her again while I go back to work for a bit and then we will all be together for dinner tonight.  Now, if we both worked full-time jobs and payed for daycare, either one of us would have to take the day off and pick her up and pray she hadn’t tainted any of the other children or caught it from one of her playmates.  I have a feeling this would be happening more than not and all my sick time and vacation would be vanishing before my eyes.

At any rate, the best place for a sick baby to be is at home snuggling with her momma and that’s exactly what we are doing today!

(Sorry no ill baby pictures or mom in jammies — that’s just cruel!)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rena / Mar 22 2011 3:10 pm

    give her a big Nana Rena hug

  2. katelynb / Mar 22 2011 3:32 pm

    consider it done!

  3. Alissa / Mar 23 2011 8:30 am

    yep those snuggles are priceless aren’t they? Last night Erik got up several times before I actually went to bed at 1:30 and I almost wished for the “early” days of sleeping with him on my chest on the couch again.

Leave a Reply

