Skip to content
May 5, 2011 / katelynb

Remembering Grandpa Gary

Driving down the road to get my baby to sleep, this song comes on the radio… I cry.  I cry so much I wish the windshield wipers could be on my eyes so I wouldn’t have to turn off the road to find a tissue to dry them enough to see.  I didn’t think this day (the 1 yr anniversary of his passing) would hit me as hard as it is — and I blame most of it on these obnoxious pregnancy hormones, but I just want to curl up in bed and stay there, much like the days to follow just one year ago.  Off topic for a moment… I cried at Mass on Sunday when the parents walked in with their first communion kids, I cry at random songs we sing in church, I cried watching the last episode of the office, I cried putting Emma to sleep the other night… I am out of control, I cry all the time.  Luckily, I am good at hiding it!

Anyways, this is the song I heard today:

Almost heaven, West Virginia
Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River
Life is old there, older than the trees
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, Mountain Mama
Take me home, country roads

All my memories, gathered ’round her
Miners’ Lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye

Chorus

I hear her voice, in the morning hour she calls me
The radio reminds me of my home far away
And drivin’ down the road I get the feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

It’s been one heck of a year for the Millers and there have been so many wonderful times we’ve missed him – graduations, weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, new jobs, pj themed birthday parties, fish frys, summer time at the lake and THREE new grand babies coming soon!  You’ve been a part of it all and will continue to be for years and years and years to come, Papa G.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cousin Laura / May 5 2011 2:13 pm

    I cried at the last episode of The Office too. I wish I could blame the crying on hormones!

  2. katelynb / May 5 2011 2:20 pm

    for your own sake, I’m glad you can’t blame the crying on hormones!!

  3. Grandma Corie / May 5 2011 9:35 pm

    I think it’s heredity AND hormones. I’ve been known to cry in all of the above situations. Hugs

  4. Alissa / May 6 2011 12:45 pm

    {{{{{hugs}}}}} to you
    I was never a “crier” until I had kids. now though the sweetest AND the dumbest things make me tear up.

  5. rena / May 9 2011 6:31 pm

    They say ——–“It does a body good to cry” We must have the best bodies around. It has been a difficult year but we did it with all the wonderful memories and being there for each other. I’m sure Papa G has already met those three precious gift we are about to get.

Leave a Reply

