Skip to content
May 29, 2011 / katelynb

$10 Upgrade + My Kids Will Be Nerdy.

I didn’t plan this one very well and missed out on the before picture, sorry!  Imagine an old (1990’s?) white and shiny brass ceiling fan/lamp combo with ugly, ugly glass shades.  Something like this:

I hope I don’t offend anyone but this thing is just plain awful!  Not really what I have in mind to be the centerpiece of the dining room, but we’ve lived with it.  Tony and I had talked about replacing the thing but really weren’t interested in spending money on something that worked and did the job it was meant to do.  After all, our project list is a mile long and we’re always trying to watch the budget when it comes to unnecessary extras.  This would for sure fall into this category.

I found this beauty at a garage sale last week marked for $10.  I was amazed it had nothing wrong with it – no scratches, chips, missing shades… I decided to pick it up and hope and pray Tony would approve and agree to hook it up and he ever so graciously did so tonight.  Take a look and don’t mind the two missing bulbs… we used what we had and I will run to the store for more later:

It might be hanging a little low and we can fix that but it pretty much works for us since we’re fairly short.  All in all this is another $10 very, very well spent!

and now you’re probably wondering about the “Nerdy Kid” thing… Well I picked up a couple of things I thought were just irresistible:

Check out those adorable details:

Both the dress and this little bow tie and suspenders number were part of the $5 bag sale at “Jackpot Garage Sale”

So Stinkin’ Cute!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Grandma Corie / May 30 2011 6:36 am

    Jordan says, “Emma CANNOT wear that!”

Leave a Reply

