Skip to content
September 26, 2011 / katelynb

Family Weekend.

Saturday morning I woke up and headed to the Women’s Expo in West Fargo to browse vendors (mostly direct sales people like Mary Kay, Pampered Chef, Thirty One, Etc.), enjoy some delicious breakfast and coffee from Dunn Bros. Coffee, and listen to page through catalogs while a financial company spoke about investing.  The real reason I sat in the auditorium was to be present to win some of the prizes they were drawing for.  Good thing I was there because I was the second name to be chosen and I took home a free zip up fleece that will be perfect for this fall! It was fun to stroll around with Sage and see what vendors were offering and register for their giveaways too and of course, collect free samples and promotional items!  Having kids with you is a sure way to attract attention, especially from other moms, we met a new mom friend there that happens to live by us.  I’m hoping for a walking buddy!  I was a little embarrassed when I asked for her information and she handed me a card, I did not have one to return… my part time job does not merit a business card…  Good thing I had a tiny notebook I keep in my bag for Emma to doddle on – isn’t it funny how obvious it is to see where your priorities are 🙂

We left the event and after a quick errand at the mall, I joined Tony and the kids back home all ready to leave for Casselton for Apple picking and pie making!  It was nothing less than a noisy house full of laughter and toys thrown about, everyone doing a different thing and what seemed like a hundred recipes going at once.  Heidi and I got to sneak off to a rummage sale and Grandpa Ken took Emma in the stroller for Ice Cream!  An Absolutely PERFECT way to spend the afternoon!

isn’t this sweet?

Sage was held the whole day!

and Emma finally got to wear this adorable shirt from Nana Rena:

Needless to say we were exhausted by the end of the day.  Slept in a bit Sunday morning then Grandma and Grandpa came over to watch the kids while Tony and I enjoyed mass together… alone. It was different, but we are so grateful to them for doing that.  I got a whole lot more than usual out of the sermon and found the time to pray for things I need this week which are happily different than what typically tops my list: patience and acceptance.  I have to attribute some of these fond traits to the book I am reading: Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff — it is a life saver, I feel like it was written exactly for me and I am happy to know that since it is a published book and I purchased it second hand that can only mean I am not facing this challenge alone!

Later in the afternoon we joined the family again to celebrate Micah’s 1st birthday.  He is such a sweet boy!

What do you get a one year old for his birthday when you know yourself as a parent, stuffed animals and noisy toys are not exactly “desired objects” to have around the house.  That’s right, I made another diaper cake and I am so pleased with how it turned out!  And the best part, everything but the diapers were things I had on hand!

Leave a Reply

